Causal FB fan - Are we actually good?

BYU Cougars Football. Still Open, now Independent.
Qman
All-American
Fan Level: BYU Fan
Prediction Group: CougarCorner

Causal FB fan - Are we actually good?

Post by Qman »

Hey BYU FB experts, I casually follow the football team. Are we going to be good this year?

Being in Houston how much do I talk up the Cougars to the Texas fans at work?

I know Hill and Williams are stars-- do we know who the next reciever(s) are?

On D do we have anyone on Ansah's or Van Noy's level?

Fall down seven times, stand up eight. Chinese Proverb
Cougs_Rule
Over-Achiever

Re: Causal FB fan - Are we actually good?

Post by Cougs_Rule »

I'm no expert.....but,

10 or 11 win season is Pretty good! BYU is going to be an exciting team to watch and follow. They will be relevant in the national scene and be in the top 25..

Going to BE a great rematch with the HCougs. Two of the top 10 QBs in the country.
In the end, the HCougs at their speed and this game's speed will sputter in Q4 because of elevation.

Intriguing returners at WR and very intriguing recruits/transfers to make a deep squad who could hurt teams if Hill can deliver the ball.

D stars = Bronson Kaufusi--he will play on Sundays. Other very good players including The best defensive backfield maybe since 1996.

mizzoucoug
Pro

Post by mizzoucoug »

BYU will be a top 40 team as usual or better. We don't know anything about how the receivers will play in this system, and only one top guy has any D1 experience (I'm not really counting on MM or Apo to do anything). The rest is hype--which we all love.

The QB will be in Heisman discussions before the end of next season. Our RB is above average for BYU, but he's no Unga yet.

The OL hopefully doesn't suck and same goes for the TE's. The D will be fine, but there's a lot of talk about the potential for a couple of "shutdown corners," which in BYU land probably means a 10-yard cushion instead of 15. :)