Firesides: Likely Going Away.

BYU Cougars Football. Still Open, now Independent.
stuckinbig10country
Heisman Winner
Fan Level: BYU Fanatic
Prediction Group: CougarCorner

Firesides: Likely Going Away.

Post by stuckinbig10country »

First off, I never went to any of the firesides, so I have no first hand knowledge of how they went. Many people who have gone have praised them. Have they outlived their usefulness? I don't know. I think they were a great way for the team to interact with the fan base, especially when they went to new places.

I still don't know why this became such a lightning rod issue. The players were not required to attend or participate. It took place at a time where the alternative was sitting in a hotel room and maybe playing video games, or doing homework (maybe).

Oh, and let's not forget something that should be important to BYU fans/members of the Church: IT WAS A DIRECT ANSWER TO PRAYER!

But apparently, it's too much to ask a return missionary to share a 5 minute talk because it would be too hard to focus on the game. Kalani is the 2nd returned missionary head coach at BYU. My understanding was Bronco didn't take too much time, and it was a basic gospel principle every time. Kalani seems to like to talk to people and fans. I think this would be right up his ally.

The positives of the firesides seem to outweigh the negatives by a lot. Interaction with fans, advancing the cause of the university/church, showing that football isn't the end all be all (which is actually an important lesson), oh and the fact that without firesides Kyle Van Noy never plays at BYU (and given his history, likely makes some pretty bad choices).

But hey, what do I know.

EM_Puma
Pro
Fan Level: BYU Fan

Re: Firesides: Likely Going Away.

Post by EM_Puma »